The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom

The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom

By Christopher Healy 

 

  I found this book in my class library.  It was the only book that I hadn’t read yet, but I’m happy I picked it up.  It’s the first part of the Hero’s Guide series and it’s got me hooked to read more.  

Let me tell you about it.

This book focuses on the miserable lives of all of the Prince Charmings in the fairy tales. If you’re like me, you just assumed that maybe there was just this ONE Prince Charming guy and he went around saving people.  But no, there are many princes and they actually have names!  There was Prince Frederic (Cinderella), Prince Gustav, (Rapunzel tale), Prince Duncan, (the Snow white), and Prince Liam. (Sleeping Beauty).

You may wonder how these guys all know each other?  Turns out that even if you are a Prince Charming, someone may find you boring.  At least Cinderella found her prince boring and left to go on an adventure.  She was on her way to see Rapunzel and was captured by a witch.  

So Frederic searches for her and meets up with Gustav while he was fighting some trolls.  I guess Frederic is a bit of a wimpy guy even though he is a prince.  While this is happening, Liam is getting ready to marry Sleeping Beauty but it turns out she’s just a total butt.  Liam doesn’t want to marry her.  He was a hero to the whole kingdom because Sleeping Beauty (Briar Rose) is really rich and all the folks in the kingdom were looking forward to getting richer.  Now, everyone is mad at him and he was expelled from the kingdom.  Liam meets up with the other two guys, Frederic and Gustav.  Now it’s three guys looking to save Cinderella.  

Duncan is a really wacky prince (he randomly names animals and it is driving Snow White nuts).  She pretty much tells him to find some other princes and he finds the three guys.  So now, it’s 4 princes on an adventure.
 

I don’t want to ruin it for you, but let’s say these guys run into bandits, giants, a witch and other things.

What I loved about this book is that it’s funny.  This reminded me of the “True Story of the Big Bad Wolf” in that you get to see a full description of the Princes versus them just saving a princess and being charming.   I liked how some of the princes were wimps and others totally wacky.  Do they save Cinderella and solve their own princess problems?  You’ll have to read to find out. 

 I ended up reading this during the breaks for our STAAR testing and shared the book cover to about 4 others in my class.  I think even if you don’t care about princess stuff, you’d like this book.  I pretty much showed it to the boys in my class and most of us don’t know anything about princesses (unless you have a sister and are forced to know about that stuff).

 

 

Leave a Reply

