Evil Spy School- review and author interview

I have some really exciting news for you. For those of you who follow me on Instagram or Twitter, you already know this (and all the kids in my class too). I really love the books of Stuart Gibbs. Actually, a lot of people in my class do too. His books are really interesting and funny and I find that I go through them quickly.
4/21 came and my dad came home really late. Guess my surprise when he came home with this! Yes, he bought me the new, hardcover Evil Spy School. This kept me company on the second day of STAAR testing and I finished it later the next day.
This post is a bit different. I will definitely do a review of this great book. However, I have something even more wonderful. My mom emailed the author, Stuart Gibbs to see if I could interview him. And.He.Said.Yes!  Below is the interview- it’s actually the questions I asked and his answers. By the way, he answered right away which I thought was really cool.


1. How do you come up with the names and traits of your characters? Are they based on people you know in real life?
I collect names that I like. Like, I actually heard about a real person named Nefarious once, and I knew I had to use it. Sometimes i use friends’ names too. The characters are rarely based on real people, though. (Except Violet in Space Case, who is based on my daughter.)
2. Is Evil Spy Camp the end of this Spy Series?
No, there will be more books after this in the spy school series.
3. How did you come up with the idea of the FunJungle?
No, there will be more books after this in the spy school series.
4. Are the spy moves you talk about (Frightened Rabbit, Sneaky Cobra, etc) real? Or did you make them up? If you made them up, how did you think of them? (do you do karate or is this all made up)
I made up all those spy moves. The fake names were actually the suggestion of my book agent. Very clever of her! (I came up with the actual names. She simply suggested that the moves ought to have names.)

About the book.
I was looking forward to this book because I love stories about spies. This book talked about Spyder, the evil spy organization and the people in it. Erica sabotages Ben during a paint ball fight. He accidentally sends a live mortar into the principal’s office and gets expelled because of it. After that, Spyder recruits him. Ben thinks that he could become a double agent for the CIA by learning what Spyder is going to do and tell the CIA.

Some of the interesting folks at Spyder are Joshua (everyone at CIA thought he was dead but hello, he’s alive), Hallal, double Spyder agent Murray, gymnast Ashley Sparks, and Nefarious. I really liked the character Murray best.

My favorite part had to be when Ben drove the bulldozer through enemy camp.  I won’t spoil anything for you, but there will be an Evil Spy Camp!

I think we need to have him come to Austin maybe to the Book People and maybe even to my school! I have decided to ask my teacher if we can have a petition to get Stuart Gibbs to come. Would you like to get Stuart Gibbs to come to Austin? Do you like his books? Let me know in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Evil Spy School- review and author interview

Leave a comment